Tulum Beach, Riviera Maya

Aussie Alex O'Loughlin actor loves Mexico's history, food and Tulum

Aussie Alex O’Loughlin actor loves Mexico’s history, food and Tulum

Tulum Real Estate Information

Tulum Alex O'Loughlin

Alex O'Loughlin Loves Tulum

Born in Canberra, Australia, and raised in Sydney, Alex O’Loughlin’s thick Aussie accent is nowhere to be heard on “Hawaii Five-0,” where he plays the lead character Steve McGarrett. “I heard that some people thought I was American,” said the 34-year-old actor during a break from shooting in Honolulu. “I take that as a great compliment. I try to be as authentic as I can for each role that I take. But once I’m done shooting, I sound like me again. I can’t hide it.” “Hawaii Five-0” airs Mondays on CBS.

Q What is your favorite vacation destination?

Tulum, Mexico, because it’s magic. There’s a yoga retreat at the Maya Tulum Resort  that’s really great. I just love that part of Mexico. But Mexico is such a wonderful country in general. I love going out to Chichen Itza and climbing the pyramids and seeing the ancient ruins. The food is amazing, too. The ceviche there was some of the best I ever ate.

Q Where are your favorite weekend getaways?

Chicago Shopping: Your home for personalized holiday shopping deals >>> Follow the complete interview at www.chicagotribune.com

Leave a Reply

